Things that inspire me to write

28 Sep

So I’ve noticed that there are a few very particular things that inspire me to write or create.  I thought I’d share them with you but promise not to laugh at me 🙂

1. Feeling good about myself – When I’m eating well and sleeping well and getting my exercise in and losing weight I feel more creative and even like some of the ideas I come up with.

2. Reading a good book – The book doesn’t even have to be in the genre I want to write about, YA paranormal, but a good book can inspire me, not to steal ideas but just make me think about the path my story would be taking.

3. Watching BBC America or a good film from the UK.  I’m a huge Anglophile and so I like to watch a lot of movies/television out of the UK and was originally inspired to write, an incomplete chick lit, after watching an episode of Doctor Who.  My Doctor is #10 for anyone who understands what I mean by that.  Some of my favorite shows are Doctor Who, Torchwood, Survivors, Being Human (which is currently shooting in my favorite UK city of Cardiff), Primeval and I am looking forward to Luther and Sherlock.

4. Music – I listen to a lot of music out of the UK and have an app on my phone that lets me listen to radio from all over the world and I tend to listen to Red Dragon FM out of Cardiff, Wales, UK the most.  I like Paolo Nutini, Scouting for Girls, Plan B, Alphabeat, Mika, Lily Allen, Florence and the Machine, The Script and Antony & The Johnsons.  I’ve also recently found a gorgeous song by The Perishers called Sway that I can’t get enough of.

5. Westlife – This should probably go under the previous catagory but they are pretty much their own inspirational source.  I love to listen to them and find I write better when I do.  I’ll go through phases where I listen to nothing but Westlife and I am very anxiously awaiting their next album so that I can have some new materials to choose from.  I’ve a weakness for sexy Irish lads and that they are.  So if either Nicky, Mark, Kian or Shane ever read this I ❤ you all and your music *giggle*  Brian too I suppose.

There are many other things but these are just the first 5 I could think of today.  What inspires you?  Any suggestions on things that might help me?

Leave a Reply

