Anniversary

3 Sep

I had the pleasure of being raised by my mother sometimes and my grandparents at other times.  My mom got sick when I was in 5th grade and so I spent 6th grade with my grandparents.  I spent most summers with them and holiday breaks.  When I was 15 I moved in with them and spent the rest of my school years with them.  I loved my grandparents as if they were my parents.

My grandmother, Vida, was slightly crazy and that’s okay with me.  I am the oldest grandchild and only granddaughter, last girl born into my family and in 3 weeks I will be 32.  I was spoiled.  I won’t deny it and it wouldn’t work to try denying it.  When I graduated high school they were there fiercely supportive despite all the mistakes I made.

Several years ago she fell and broke her hip and that was pretty much the beginning of the end.  She went to a nursing home and was pretty out of touch, not communicating well.  In the end she was sent to a hospital because she became very jaundiced and the ER doctor took one look at her, without instruments, just eyes, and said “she has cancer.”  Sure enough she did.  She had lung cancer that had metastasized to her liver, causing the jaundice.  Hospice was due to arrive the following Monday which was Labor Day 2007 but she didn’t make it.  My mom called me on that Sunday, September 3, 2010, to tell me that my beloved Mamaw was gone.  The very last thing she ever said to me was how pretty I was.  I still miss her all the time and yesterday was horrible for me.

One Response to “Anniversary”

  1. Kelly B September 7, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    I too was raised by my Gram. She passed away two years ago this past August and I still find myself wanting to pick up the phone and call her to tell her something that happened to me or share an idea for a recipe I had.

    I hope it doesn’t ever go away, because I always feel happy when I think of her. So thanks for the memory.

Leave a Reply

