In the beginning

31 Aug

I have this wonderful book idea that I think could be the one.  I have pages and pages of notes and a great general idea of where it should go.  I have character names and descriptions and family trees.  Not at all my usual style by the way.

One thing I do not have is the beginning.  I have a list of ideas for how to start it, 7 ideas.  None of these actually seem to fit how I want to start.  I had been working with someone to bounce ideas but she’s mostly never around so I don’t rely on her when she only answers emails once a week or so.  I need to find a good crit partner I know but it’s hard and hasn’t worked so far.  What do you do when you can’t find your stride with writing?

Another thing I’m struggling with is the name I’ve chosen for the main character.  I’ve been seeing it everywhere in YA books and there is even a television show of the same name at the moment.  Do I change it or do I keep with it?

Leave a Reply

