Making friends online

24 Aug

Since I got my first computer I’ve been making online friends.  It’s a lot nicer making online friends with the use of twitter and facebook I have to say.  I’ve made some friends, reconnected with old ones and met some people I know will be in my life for a very long time.  Some are just a state away and other’s are on the other side of the world.  Some I’ve met and others I never will.

I feel very blessed to have these people in my lives.  I had a friend I met via IRC, and later in person, over a dozen years ago and we had a falling out and that was my fault.  After many years I reached out to her to repair that friendship and while we’ll never be close like we used to be I’m still lucky to count her among my friends today.

Lately I’ve met a group of women in a book club that started via twitter.  I was the late comer to the group and they all welcomed me with open arms and have made me feel so welcome.  I’m glad to count this group of women among my new friends.  Technology is so amazing.

With the internet you can find friends, old and new, repair past mistakes, find love and learn about anywhere in the world you might want to go.  And if you having a falling out you can just mark yourself invisible to them and pretend you aren’t there anymore. 😉

One Response to “Making friends online”

  1. Kelly B August 24, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    I could not agree more. I love the fact that while we may never meet I have been able to form this circle of friends with whom I have this love of reading in common with. The discussions that have been sparked from our first couple of reads and even the ones that were just because have been amazing and getting to know everyone a little deeper has been really fun. By the way, we are just glad you made it to the party. Better late than never!

Leave a Reply

