Word of the day: BOOK

5 Aug

One thing that I read in relation to becoming a writer is that you should never stop reading.  Not a problem for me.  I love to read.  I could spend all day wrapped up in a good book and have many times.  I once sat at my computer all day, supposed to be working, and instead read a book.  This is not such a good thing when you get paid by production like I do but I made up for it.

At the library they know my name, knew it before I was a volunteer there last year but this year I can’t do it which is actually rather disappointing to me but that’s another story.  I am in there no less than 2 times a week and usually picking up several items I have on hold.

I also read incredibly fast.  I’ve been questioned if I skip things or miss things or even retain things.  I say if you want to check how well I retain things start asking me Harry Potter questions and we’ll see just how well I retained that.  Oh Remus!  You just can’t die in that last movie!  PLEASE PLEASE live my professor!

Earlier this year I set a quest for myself, to read 150 books in one years time, spanning from February 1, 2010 through January 31, 2011.  Just 6 months in and I’m almost done with #86.  If you count audio, which I’m not, I’m nearer to 90.  I’ve also started and stopped reading over a dozen books which just couldn’t hold my attention and I do not count those.

This year I’ve read a lot of YA paranormal/supernatural and I have a to-be-read list that includes over 100 books.  Like I said, I love to read.  What I wouldn’t give right now to be somewhere slightly secluded but warm, lower 70s, with a small breeze and a hammock curled up finishing “Hush, Hush” by Becca Fitzpatrick.

What’s your ideal reading location?

Leave a Reply

