Genius is 1% inspiration and 99% persperation, well unless you’re me

2 Aug

I don’t sweat (at least not that I’d admit to unless you saw me at the gym looking like a tomato about to fall off of the bike).

Today’s post is about inspiration and how sometimes you’ll find it in the most unlikely of places.  I’ve always written things.  I began writing horrible poetry about a boy named Brad in the 7th grade.  I was in love and he was my first kiss and then my nickname was Kermit for the next 8 months so my poems became angst filled and hateful and then I felt better.  My poems were still icky.  For a long time I wrote short stories, mostly when I was miserable.  I always wanted to write a book but they all started with some girl, who I wished was me, getting kidnapped and rescued by her night in shining armor, falling in love and living happily-ever-after.  I never made it past the plotting.

About 3 years ago I began to watch the new series of Doctor Who and 3 things happened while I watched it.

  1. I instantly fell in love with the landscape, which I later found to mostly be Wales, Cardiff in particular from the episode “Boom Town” with the 9th Doctor.
  2. I fell in love with David Tennant.  I don’t think this one requires an explanation if you’ve seen the show, in particular the episodes “The Girl in the Fireplace” or “Partners in Crime” with the amazing Catherine Tate.
  3. I decided one day, after watching the episode “Tooth and Claw” that I wanted to write a book and base it in Wales.

Now so far, and I’m on attempt #4, I have yet to complete a novel.  I’ve gotten inspired by so many things in that time and right now am inspired by a Gypsy Caravan or Vardo.  I am working on something now and hope this is the one, just as I have 3 other times.  I like to surround myself with music and pictures and smells and tea to write.

What inspires you?

One Response to “Genius is 1% inspiration and 99% persperation, well unless you’re me”

  1. mmiller46 August 3, 2010 at 2:21 am #

    What inspires me?

    Good books, a beautiful sunset, an interesting conversation, and of course tea.

Leave a Reply

