Procrastinators Unite eventually!

23 Jul

All day long I’ve thought about writing this blog and then I procrastinated about writing it.  The topic is, of course, procrastination!  I am an expert at it.

I’ve worked at home for 6 years now.  I am a medical transcriptionist as my day job.  I’m no longer satisfied with it but what can I do until I finally finish and sell a novel I’m kind of stuck with it.  Working at home is not a good place for a procrastinator to work.  I’ll work on a file and then bargain that I should take a break and watch a little bit of television or read for a few minutes and then it’ll turn from 15 minutes into an hour and then I’ll have to fight myself to get back to what it is that I really need to be doing.

I procrastinate about cleaning.  I’ll procrastinate with facebook or twitter or reading a book or writing a book.  I procrastinate about writing by watching television or cleaning or reading or any of a number of things.

Why do I do these things?  When I get focused I’m fine.  I can exceed goals for work.  I can clear my DVR or DVD queue any time.  I could procrastinate professionally if such a profession were available.  I guess the bosses just haven’t gotten around to forming a union yet.

So the point of this is that I have no idea how to get around this.  I have the ideas but apparently not the motivation/mojo.  I guess I need to work on that.

This morning a friend and I discussed the idea of starting a writing club so we’re going to try to meet up this weekend to work out some details.  I am also planning to do NaNo this year since last year I didn’t get to.

How do you push through and avoid procrastination?

Leave a Reply

